Our Organisation

The Alfred Beit Foundation owns and operates Russborough House & Parklands, its mission is to promote education in the fine arts in Ireland and to preserve and make accessible to the public the house, collections and demesne. The Foundation is a company limited by guarantee, incorporated in March 1976 with charitable status granted under reference number CHY 5940. The Foundation is run by a committee that includes nominees from the Royal Dublin Society, University College Dublin, Trinity College Dublin, the Irish Georgian Society; the National Gallery of Ireland and An Taisce as well as trustees drawn from a variety of private and public service backgrounds. 

Board of Trustees 2020

Judith Woodworth (Chair)

Judith Woodworth was Director/CEO of the National Concert Hall from 1993-2010. She served as a Council member of The Arts Council 2011-16 and as a Governor of The Irish Times from 2002-2012. She is a member of the Governing Authority of the University of Limerick and was appointed by Government as Chair of the national St Patrick’s Festival. She is a History & Political Science graduate of TCD and was awarded a Royal Irish Academy of Music Fellowship in 2016.

Eamonn Ceannt 

Eamonn Ceannt is a former Bursar/Vice President Finance and Vice President for Commercial and Capital Development at University College
Dublin. He retired from the university at the end of 2014. Eamonn works as a sculptor and as a cultural project advisor. He is Chairman of Newman House Literary Centre Ltd (Ulysses Centre), a Board member of the IE Domain Register, a Trustee of the Chester Beatty Library and an active participant in the ‘Save Moore St’ campaign.

Sean Rainbird 

Sean Rainbird is a British art historian and Director of the National Gallery of Ireland since 2012. He was Senior Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art at the Tate, London and Director of the Staatsgalerie, Stuttgart. At NGI Sean has overseen the refurbishment of the historic Dargan and Milltown Wings which re-opened in June 2017, and resumed a temporary exhibition programme, including shows on da Vinci, Caravaggio and Vermeer.

Dr. Christine Casey 

Christine Casey is a Professor of Architectural History at Trinity College Dublin with a particular interest in the relationship of architecture and decoration and the role of craftsmanship in architectural production. Her research has developed from an initial focus on Irish eighteenth-century architecture to a broader interest in European early modern architecture. In 2019 she received an Irish Research Council Advanced Laureate Award for a four-year project entitled ‘Craft value: the agency and impact of craftsmanship in the architecture of Britain and Ireland, 1680-1780’.

Karen Erwin 

Karen Erwin is a Mediator and a former partner in A&L Goodbody, solicitors. She was an Executive Director and General Counsel of The Irish Times and Chairperson of the Irish Auditing and Accounting Supervisory Authority. Karen runs Erwin Mediation Services Ltd and was President of The Mediators' Institute of Ireland for seven years.

Klaus Unger

Following an early career working on public developments in Ireland and abroad, Klaus Unger, Architect, OPW, made notable contributions to planning and design in state complexes iincluding Dublin Castle, Government Buildings, Leinster House, National Gallery,  National Library, National Concert Hall, Chester Beatty Library, and Wexford Opera House. Now retired, he remains a Fellow of the Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland and retains an active interest in architectural matters. 

Consuelo O'Connor

Consuelo O'Connor was a council member of An Taise for thirty-two years and its first woman chair, she edited the 'An Taisce Journal' for five years. She served as council member of Europa Nostra for fifteen years and with the RDS for two six year periods. She was appointed by the Minister for the Environment to the board of An Foras Forbatha in 1981 and also acted as a board member of Friends Provident Life Assurance for a six year period. 

Jerry Healy 

Jerry Healy is a barrister. For a number of years he
was a member of the Board of the Irish Georgian Society and is currently the Chairman of the Committee responsible for the restoration of the City Assembly House, including the octagonal gallery of the former Society of Artists.

Peter O'Grady-Walshe

Peter O'Grady Walshe is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Ireland, having worked with KPMG in Dublin, London and Philadelphia. He is currently chairman of John Paul Construction and is a non-executive director of a number of private businesses. He is a graduate of University College Dublin.

Ian Lumley

Ian Lumley is Head of Advocacy with An Taisce, one of the 70 members of the International National

Trusts Organisation. His work embraces most of the UN Sustainable Development Goals 2015, including global equity, health and well-being,
sustainable resource use and consumption, climate action, reversal of biodiversity loss and cultural heritage.

Malcolm Alexander 

Malcolm Alexander is the Heritage Manager with ESB International. 

Flor Madden

Flor Madden is the Executive Chairman of Madden Events. 

Our People

Eric Blatchford, CEO

Eric Blatchford, CEO


Audrey McCreery, Sales Manager

Audrey McCreery, Sales Manager 


Pauline Swords, Curator


Teresa Crowley, Development Manager 


The following cookies load by default:

Strictly necessary cookies
These cookies are essential for visitors to be able to browse the website and use its features. None of this information can be used to identify visitors as all data is anonymized.

Site session
Purpose: To remember different visitor preferences on the website.
Duration: For duration of browser session.

Preferred language
Purpose: To be able to provide the website in the visitor's preferred language (if the website contains multiple languages).
Duration: 1 year.

Purpose: To be able to show prices in the currency matching the visitor's preferences.
Duration: 30 days.

Google Recaptcha
Purpose: To be able to validate whether the visitor is human and to limit the amount of spam from contact forms.
Duration: 1 year.
Provider: Google.

Third-party cookies
These cookies collect information about how visitors use the website, like which pages they've visited and which links they've clicked on. None of this information can be used to identify visitors as all data is anonymized.

Purpose: Registers a unique ID that is used to generate statistical data on how the visitor uses the website.
Duration: 1 year.
Provider: Google.

Purpose: Registers a unique ID that is used to generate statistical data on how the visitor uses the website.
Duration: 24 hours.
Provider: Google.

Purpose: Used by Google Analytics to throttle request rate.
Duration: 1 year.
Provider: Google.

We also integrate with social platforms on this site that allow you to connect with your social network in various ways. Social media integration will set cookies through the website which may be used to enhance your profile on social media sites or contribute to the data they hold for various purposes outlined in their respective privacy policies.